L A V A G N A

Housemade and locally sourced Italian foods.

I haven’t seen all of my friends together at one time in months. So, this brunch was much needed. My friend recommended this place to me so I was excited to go and try it. I never had chicken and waffles before so I knew I would order that.

SN: The night before we went out to Kabin Lounge so this brunch was much needed since we were all starving zombies that whole morning.

As soon as we walked in we were seated and our waiter, Mario, was so helpful and polite. Thumbs up to him.

Some of us ordered bottomless mimosas and some of us whose pockets weren’t that deep (meaning: we didn’t have much to spend), just got one mimosa. ($6 for one and $12 for bottomless).

SN: My friends are very opinionated but also hysterical, especially when alcohol is involved. We should really have a podcast but we would definitely get into some trouble.

Lavanga makes all their food from scratch, even their ketchup and hot sauce. My chicken was seasoned and breaded really well but my waffles weren’t sweet at all. The syrup wasn’t warm so it didn’t give me the satisfaction that I wanted.

SN: I tried chicken and waffles again at another restaurant and I think it’s just not for me.

However, my friends ordered the Goat Cheese Omelette and the Italian Sausage Gravy that looked bomb. The Italian sausage gravy was packed with creamy smothered flavor and while my friend doesn’t particularly like too much cheese, the cheese was a nice added touch to her omelette. I wish I would have gotten one of those but I can always go back and try it.

I loved how cute and quaint the place was. It was more like an Italian cafe. With wooden tables and chairs and cast iron railings and carved pillars. Next time I want to go upstairs and see what it looks like.

As we all left to say our “see you later’s” you know we had to take a group picture for memories. I had my camera and of course, I was the one to take the pictures.

SN: I don’t even like pictures and I really wasn’t feeling too cute that day. You know how it is.

If you have ever tried to take a picture of a group of girls you know how annoying it can be. Someone’s head isn’t turned the right way, someone literally can’t stop talking, someone is complaining to hurry up, someone is being awkward, and for the grand finale after every picture they ALL want to see it.

Never.show.the.picture.

There is a one out of million chance that the entire group will like the photo. When in doubt…do a candid laughing picture.

Until next time,

Lin Alishia

Leave a Reply

