Charles Sumner School

I had an interview today that went really well. I thought since I was close by my friend Johnyie’s job, I would grab lunch with her.

My interview ended earlier than she could leave for her lunch break so I headed across the street to a building called the Charles Sumner School Museum & Archives.

I did a quick Google search and the Charles Sumner School was established in 1872 and was one of the earliest schools for African Americans in Washington DC.

It was mainly three levels of old photographs and memorabilia with a few paintings and life-size pieces (I was the only visitor there at the time I went so I will admit I jumped a few times walking around).

Seriously, though, you know how you walk around an old place or home and get that eerie feeling. Yeah, that was me today.

I felt like I was flipping through my granny’s or great aunt’s photo album walking through there just seeing all the African American superintendents, principals, educators, various desegregated schools, and all the people not of color who helped to make it possible.

I walked into one office room called “The Tower” and as I stepped through the entry way the bell rang.

I have never heard of the Charles Sumner School but I feel like it should be more reputable. They had so many things that were donated like some of the children’s desks from different schools, high school and college diplomas, awards, entire furniture from faculty offices. They had pictures of some famous and prominent people that attended Washington, DC schools.

I felt like I traveled back to the past.

Woodrow Wilson High School Class of 1931 (left) Woodrow Wilson High School Class of 1986 (right)

Until next time,

Lin Alishia

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Wow, nice a black history museum right under our noses. I will have to go and check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

