Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe

Landmark indie bookstore & cafe with a menu of upscale American fare, wine & draft beer.

Such a cute place. I love this bookstore and cafe as soon as I walked in. Maybe I am just a dork but I love being surrounded by books because I love the opportunity to come across a good story.

Fun fact: Kramerbooks & Cafe opened in 1976 and was the first bookstore/cafe in Washington, DC during the time.

It was just like a movie when you walk into a bookstore and everyone has a book in hand, quietly pacing back and forth as they tap into their intellectuality.

By time my friend Tayo and I got here we were starving so we didn’t spend much time picking up books and reading the summaries.

Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe

Tayo did bring her computer so she could get some work done but it was 4:30 p.m. and our parking was about to expire. So we decided to head home after we were finished eating.

SN: Kramerbooks hosts events and multiple book signings, so if you are interested check it out!

Looking at the menu I didn’t realize how seafood based it was, almost everything had seafood in it. Don’t get me wrong, I love seafood, I just wasn’t expecting this small cafe to serve crab cakes.

Tayo and I both ordered the Fettucine New Orleans which is a pasta dish that is cajun based (It has a kick to it). It had chunky pieces of chicken, big pieces of shrimp, andouille sausages, and a light sauce.

Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe

I was getting full while eating it but I really didn’t want to take it home and it was so delicious that I decided to be glutenous and finish it. Although, the food was up to par my favorite part of my meal was the raspberry vanilla soda. I DONT DRINK SODA OFTEN…but that soda was soooooooo perfectly mixed I could’ve had 5 of them. It tasted like a shirley temple but not so syrup-y and you could taste both the raspberry and the vanilla.

Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe

Must go and visit Kramerbooks and Afterwods Cafe!

Until next time,

Lin Alishia

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Nice place
    Bookstores are so relaxing and to be able to eat a nice meal there too, you can’t help but have a great time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

