Dupont Underground

I saw this place one day on IG (Instagram) and thought it was really cool because of the graffiti art. I did a quick google search and found out that it takes place underground and used to be DC’s old trolley system before the metro.

I do like to find free things to do because it will open up more options for people but this exhibit is $15. There are timed guided tours at 6 p.m., 7 p.m., and 8 p.m.

Devin, Ayana and I left my house around 6 p.m. and it was a gridlock traffic once entering the 14th st. bridge. Our guided tour started at 7 p.m. but by time I got to Dupont it was 7:05 p.m. I was nervous because we didn’t find a parking spot and didn’t get to the entrance until 7:30 p.m. When we walked up to the door we heard a voice say they wouldn’t be opening the doors for another 10 minutes.

SN: The tone sounded rude and no one came to the door so I wasn’t sure how lenient they’d be about letting us in late.

So we waited in Starbucks and went down around 7:45 p.m. I walked up to the attendant and said, “Hi, so we have a dilemma. We were supposed to be on the 7 p.m. tour but we missed it due to traffic, is it possible we can go on the 8 p.m. tour?”

She took a long pause and said, “Of course!” Instantly, I was relieved and excited for the tour. We all signed our waiver, took a couple pics in front of the graffiti wall and waited for the tour to begin.

Dupont Underground

The tour was excellent! It was kind of creepy going down those dark corridors and tunnels but the exhibits along the way catch you off guard and fascinate you. The history of the tunnels are really detailed and you will be shocked about the different facts.

My favorite fact was that the trolley system was built in the late 1930’s and operated until the 1960’s but was shut down due to increased fares and not enough riders. The district just ended up sealing off all the exits and building concrete walls in between streets and leaving it just like that for decades.

Dupont Underground is leased by an art non-profit and will be acquired by them for the next two years. They will have pop-up concerts and fashion shows in the near future. The next event will be a fashion show held April, 15th. I highly recommend you go and check it out.

Tickets for guided tours and events

Until next time,

Lin Alishia

Leave a comment